Teaser Tuesday 10-27-2009

Page 92 of The HalflingThis is from one that I’m editing right now.  Cami is pretending to be a Pureblood (born Vampire).  She is being hunted by a group of pureists that believe Halflings should not exist.  Zane is her new Pureblood boyfriend and Cason is a Pureblood that she is intrigued by.  Cason has just discovered that Cami is a Halfling and he agreed to keep her secret. 

NOTE: THE FOLLOWING SCENE HAS STRONG LANGUAGE AND ADULT SITUATIONS.

Zane stood there staring at me.  “You sure you’re okay?  You look a little freaked out.”

Great he noticed.  I couldn’t chance telling him the truth.  He wasn’t ready for that yet.  He would probably hate me. 

“Yeah, I’m fine.  I was just worried about being blinded is all.”  I laughed. 

He took my hand and led me toward my room.  I was glad he was there, but at the same time terrified that he would see through my lie and turn on me. 

“You gonna be okay for tonight?”  He asked in a sultry voice. 

I had almost forgotten about the dance.  Would I be able to put on a happy face and fake it for that long?  I wanted to go home and be with J-fer.  I felt safe with her. 

“Yeah, I’ll be fine once I get a shower and change.”  I said. 

“You need some help?  I’m an expert back washer.”  He said as we reached the door to my room. 

I wasn’t ready to go that far with him, but I knew if I wanted to keep the secret going I would need to seal the deal with him.  I decided now was as good a time as any. 

“You sure you’re not gonna get in trouble for skipping out on last period?”  I said as I placed my hand on his chest. 

He smiled at me and reached behind me for the doorknob.  “I could care less about missing class right now.” 

He opened the door and walked into the room.  Once he turned the lock he faced me and reached his hand out to me. 

“I want this to be special.  Something you remember for the rest of your life.” 

I wished I could get Cason’s face out of my mind.  The more aroused I got by Zane’s touch the more I thought about Cason.  He led me to the bed and gently placed himself on top of me, kissing me as he began to remove my shirt.  His touch was so cool against my skin it sent chills all over my body. 

“I want you.”  He whispered as he lowered his lips to my breast. 

I moaned with pleasure as he caressed my skin with his tongue. 

“I want to taste you.”  He said softly as he moved his mouth down my stomach. 

Fear shot through me.  If he drank from me he would know I was a Halfling.  I was certain a guy like him had tasted Halfling blood before and would know the difference.  Before I could move his mouth away from my hip I felt his fangs pierce me.  I cried out as he began to drink from me.  Suddenly he pulled away, looking down at me with shock. 

“What the hell?  You taste like a Halfling Cami!” 

He staggered back from me and stood against the wall.  Questions filled his eyes as he shook his head in disbelief. 

“Zane, please, you have to understand.  I didn’t want to lie to you but I’m in trouble and if anyone finds out I’m a Halfling I could be killed.” 

The words spilled out of me as I sat up and buttoned my shirt closed.  He was still staring at me.  His face turned from shock to anger. 

“You filthy whore!” 

He crossed the room.   I was caught by surprise when his hand landed against my cheek, knocking me back onto the bed.  Tears welled up in my eyes as I looked pleadingly at him.  He stood over me with his fist raised.  His eyes were full of hate as he struck me again. 

“How dare you!  I actually liked you and you lie to me about something this important?  Do you have any idea what you could have done to me?  What you would have cost me if anyone found out?”  

I rolled away from him and curled up into a ball on the bed. 

“Please, stop.  I won’t tell anyone.  I swear.”  I cried as he grabbed my legs and pulled me toward him. 

“You’re damn right you won’t.  I’ll make sure of it!” 

The last blow was hard and sent my head spinning.  I felt the darkness close in around me as his voice echoed in my ears. 

“I’ll make you pay you Halfling whore!”  He seethed.

ETA.  Edited to reflect comment from Jen W.-Thanks

5 Comments

  1. Tense! I like the world you’re setting up with the pures and the halflings. Interesting!

    • Thanks. I was going for intense but not too graphic…

  2. Heh… me thinks she should’ve stuck with Cason 😉

    Great tension and build-up. Just watch the punctuations. Going back to add commas in is a royal pain in the arse and will be noticed. And (I could be wrong) but would probably be frowned upon. Always remember to put that little comma before the name of the person you’re talking to. (ex: “I could care less about missing class right now Cami.” you need a comma after “now” and before “Cami”.)

    otherwise, it reads great!

  3. Yowza—I don’t think Zane is very nice, not very nice at all! Poor little halfling! I do hope she fights back at some point and kicks some Pureblood @ss! 🙂

  4. This is really interesting and well done. You have a lot of great tension here. The only thing that tripped me up a bit was him saying her name too much when they’re talking. It may be more realistic without that. Great job!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Profile Photo

  • Twitter Stuff

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • My Daughter’s Art