NaNo Teaser Tuesday 11-3-2009

Here’s part of my NaNo project.  Hope you guys like it.

They took Max and Mom’s bags and we followed them out the doors. The smell of saltwater filled my nose as we walked outside. It was warm as a gentle breeze blew across my face. We reached Daniel’s pick-up and I stopped when I noticed a guy jump out of the back of the truck. He was tall, with deep tanned skin. His black curly hair bounced down into his eyes as he landed on the ground. I felt my heart jump in my chest. I had seen pictures of Michael over the years, but seeing him in person was so much better. I wished I had taken the time to at least go to the bathroom and check my hair and make-up before we left the airport. I knew I probably looked like a complete troll to him. His dark brown eyes locked on mine and he smiled widely at me.

“Here, let me get that for you.” He said in a lightly accented voice.

I felt my face flush and was thankful for the darkness that surrounded us.

“Thanks.” I squeaked.

Max looked up at me and shook his head. “What’s wrong with you?” He asked.

I jerked his hand, pulling him closer to me and glared down at him. He cowered away from me and I released him finally. He rushed to Mom and she patted him on top of his head.

“You wanna ride in the back with Michael?” She asked.

The thought of watching the wind blow his hair across his face made my heart race faster. I tried to make my voice sound as nonchalant as possible. I didn’t want him to know I had been in love with him for years. I felt like I had known him my whole life. Technically I did. I had watched him grow up through the pictures his parents had sent in their emails.

“Yeah, I guess.” I finally answered.

Mom knew I had the hots for him. She always picked on me, calling him my secret boyfriend. The secret being he didn’t know he was. Michael helped Daniel load the last of our luggage into the truck and leapt into the back. He reached his hand out for me and I took it nervously. His skin was soft and warm, just like I had imagined. I placed my foot on the tire and watched as his muscles flexed, pulling me into the truck. My heart was pounding in my ears and I was sure he could hear it. I looked into the cab of the truck and saw Mom and Daniel both looking back at us. They laughed lightly and turned back around. I was wrong, the beach wasn’t the only good thing about Guam. Michael being here made it worth leaving all of my friends behind. As we puled out of the parking lot I could feel the warmth radiating off of his skin. I fought the urge to look at him and settled for watching the scenery. Yeah, Guam was defiantly going to be a lot more exciting than I thought.

2 Comments

  1. Very exciting! Sounds like a good start to a new story!

  2. Sounds interesting! Though, careful of the spelling and typos. Admittedly, NaNo isn’t keen on editing, but having to go back over it for all the spelling errors is annoying. (been there, done that… so isn’t fun! lol)

    good luck with NaNo!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Profile Photo

  • Twitter Stuff

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • My Daughter’s Art