Teaser Tuesday 11-10-2009

 

waterfall2

Here’s another juicy tidbit from my NaNo project.  The blank line is intentional.  I don’t have a name for that character yet.  ENJOY!! 

Page 33 of

UNTITLED NANO

 

I was going to have to make the first move.  I gathered my courage and walked past him, toward the wading pool.  Thankfully he followed.  I could feel the warmth of his body as he walked behind me, gently splashing water against my back with each step he took.  When we reached the rushing water of the falls I stopped and turned to face him.  He smiled at me and stepped closer, his eyes were filled with mischief and desire.  I playfully stepped backward, allowing the water to crash over me.  I wasn’t sure how this was going to play out, but I was determined to find out.  He matched my steps with his own, gently moving me to the face of the cliff.  My back brushed against it as he stepped through the water.  He looked so handsome, coming out of the falls, stopping inches from my face.  I could feel his breath on my cheek as he placed his hand on the rocks beside my head.  My heart was pounding in my ears.  I breathed in his scent and awaited his inevitable kiss.  He locked his eyes on mine and I was frozen.  I couldn’t move, couldn’t breathe, couldn’t do anything but stare into those almost black eyes as they bore into mine.  He leaned closer; my heart leapt in my chest and I felt my entire body erupt in chills.  He opened his mouth and took in a deep breath. 

“I’ve been dreaming of this moment for most of my life you know.” 

His breath was warm as it flowed against my face.  I could almost taste him.  His eyes were searching mine for some sign that this was what I wanted too.  I reached my hand out and brushed a lock of hair from his brow as I inched closer to him, willing him with my eyes to kiss me.  My hand lingered against his cheek.  His skin was soft.  The light stubble on his jaw tickled my fingertips.  The rushing water echoed around us as I moved my hand to his chest.  I looked up at him, waiting for him to wrap me in his arms and pull me into him. 

“Mikey.”  _____’s voice broke the spell between us. 

Michael’s eyes darted to the side then back to me. 

“What!”  He asked as he took a step away from me. 

I leaned back against the rock wall and sighed, finally able to breathe again. 

“Sorry, but…well…I need your help.”  He said. 

Michael reached up and gently brushed my cheek.  “Don’t move okay?”  He asked. 

I nodded and he turned form me, disappearing through the water. 

“What is it?  I’m kinda busy right now.”

His voice was muffled by the sounds of the falls.  I watched through the wall of water as he moved further away from it and vanished.  Did he just leave me here…alone?  What the hell?

8 Comments

  1. Ha! Very nice and a Teaser in the true sense of the word.
    You describe the waterfall very well, I could almost hear the sound of the water and feel the spray.
    Well done!

  2. lol, love how you did this!

    One little thing, though….. instead of where Mikey replies to someone calling his name, instead of “asked” you might want to use something like “called” or “shouted”…

    you did a great job setting this up and leaving us wanting more! Great job!!!! 😀

  3. I have to say, I thought he was kind of a stalker at first. 😀 I like the interruption as I always distrust stories where things go the way characters would like them to.

  4. That is really good…. My ex-wife would love this.. I will refer her to this… I will keep up with this…..

  5. This is great – I really like it!

  6. Nice! I like the reversal at the end, very funny. 🙂

  7. Ah, the mysterious waterfall man leaves her us wanting more… I like the dreamlike state you evoke with this scene, the combo of nature and the palpable sense of excitement.

  8. Very nice and lovely description! I really liked the way you set up this perfect scene then wham – interruption. So true to life, heh.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Profile Photo

  • Twitter Stuff

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • My Daughter’s Art