Teaser Tuesday 3-9-10

Here’s a little piece of THE BOND. It’s kinda sappy, but I like it. Hope you all like it too…

THE BOND

excerpt from pg. 64

“What’s wrong?” I asked, afraid it was something I did.

“My Uncle says we have to go away for a while, I don’t want to leave you though.”

He took my hand and looked deep into my eyes. His were filled with worry as he leaned closer to me.

“He promises it won’t be for long. I’ll write to you every day, I swear.”

The thought of not seeing him made my stomach do flips. I didn’t know if I could survive without him.

“Well did he say how long you would be gone?”

He lowered his head and sighed. “No. We leave in the morning. I’m supposed to be at home right now packing.”

He was going away, I would be alone. The thought scared me to death. What would I do?

“So… my question I guess Cleo, is will you wait for me? We could be gone for a month or a year maybe longer. I’ll understand if you decide not to. You’re a beautiful girl, and now that your Father’s back you two will probably  return to London in the winter. I’m sure he has lots of boys in mind for you to marry, respectable boys that can give you the future you deserve. I shouldn’t have let this go this far. I know that now.”

He slowly stood and headed to the window.

“Wait,” I almost yelled.

“I … don’t want any other boy… I want you, always.”

I reached my hand out to him as he turned to face me.

“Cleo, I can’t promise you anything, except that I love you more than you can imagine.” He leaned down to me and kissed me.

His kiss was more needing than ever before it was as if this was our last kiss. His arms wrapped me tightly to him for the first time in a long while I noticed how cold his body felt against mine. When he pulled back from me I looked deep into his eyes, they looked like silver marbles in the candlelight. My breath caught at the sight of them. Quickly he released his hold on me and moved away.

“I should go. I will come back for you Cleo. I won’t find any fault in you if you find someone else though. I love you… goodbye.” He climbed out the window as I stared after him.

I couldn’t move I was frozen by his words. How could he think I would find someone else? I ran to the window and looked down in time to see him nearing the stables.

“I’ll never love anyone but you Darren,” I cried into the night sky.

I knew he couldn’t hear me but it looked like he turned at the sound of my voice. I watched until I couldn’t see him anymore, then I cried. I couldn’t believe he was gone just like that. I knew he promised to come back, but how was I supposed to go on without him?

7 Comments

  1. You make this dialogue come alive on the page. So sad and sweet this exchange between the two of them. It feels very much like the parting of two people deeply in love. Good work 🙂

  2. Very poignant.

    Nice, underplayed and simple.

  3. Good job! Really liked this one. Very smooth and simple, yet emotional. : )

  4. loved this book still waiting on the next one

  5. This is really good. Very sad and great dialogue.

  6. Very sad and sweet. Good job!

  7. Awww, this is sad! Nice dialogue,nice, touching scene! Thanks for sharing! 😀


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Profile Photo

  • Twitter Stuff

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • My Daughter’s Art