TEASER TUESDAY

Well, it’s been five months since my last teaser… Let’s see if I can still intrigue you guys. Let me know what you think.

In this scene Ana-el and Jake have just found Gavin and convinced him to shift back to human form.

The Sacrifices: Lycan Child

Excerpt from pg. 106

“How ya feeling, Gavin?”
He looked up at me, his chocolate eyes brimming with tears. My heart ached at the sad look on his face.
“Did they really take Mom and hurt Dad? Are they gonna be all right? It’s all my fault. If I hadn’t freaked out and ran from you the other day none of this would have happened,” he said.
His voice cracked as he took in a ragged breath and wiped his face with his hand. I had to find some way to comfort him, but he was right. If he had just listened to me we would be safe in Brynmar by now.
“It doesn’t matter now. There’s nothing that can be done about the past. Right now we need to think about getting you to your sister and then getting your mom back. That’s what’s important now,” I said.
The sun was beginning to set, coloring the sky with deep orange and pink clouds. The nighttime insects started to buzz their songs as we trekked through the fallen leaves. It would be a long walk back for Gavin, but there was no way Jake nor I was going to carry him. I led the way as Jake followed behind Gavin. The two of us keeping watch for any sign that something was following us or waiting to ambush our trio. Gavin stayed silent, undoubtedly beating himself up more for running away.
The wind blew through the trees sending my hair into my face. I tucked it back, wishing for a rubber band or something to tie it up with. It was eerie, the quiet of the woods. Our footsteps rustling through the underbrush was the only sound now. The crickets had stopped singing. Possibly because we were there and they felt threatened. Whatever it was I didn’t like it. I glanced over my shoulder to Jake. He had noticed the shift in nature as well. He scanned the trees above us, then back to meet my eyes. Something was wrong.

2 Comments

  1. OMG your blog is so cool. Is everything OK? Can we get together over Thanksgiving holiday? IN the meantime im figuring some of this out on my own.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

